How to Achieve Higher Levels of the Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI)

The Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI), developed at Carnegie Mellon University’s Software Engineering Institute, is a recognized standard for engineering best practices that reduce the risk of defects, delays, cost overruns, and recalls. Organizations that choose to adopt CMMI strive to progress up the five levels in the maturity model by implementing sequentially more advanced best practices spanning the engineering development process.

Jama Software® is honored to be chosen by Carnegie Mellon as the primary tool used to in its Master of Science in Software Engineering to train the next generation of software engineering leaders in best practices for requirements management, reviews, verification, validation, and process performance management.

In this whitepaper, we cover:

  • The goals, practices, and artifacts of each CMMI level
  • The benefits of Live Traceability™ and how to achieve it
  • Tips for progressing up the CMMI levels
  • Correlations and hypothesis test results